Book courtship

This is something I found on The Literary Counsellor. The idea is to share books based on the phases of courtship.

Phase 1 – Initial Attraction: A book that you bought because of the cover?

I won’t lie: easily 90% of the books I pick up at the bookstore or library are ones that caught my eye because of their cover art. I won’t read something just because the covers pretty, but I am always drawn to beautiful or interesting covers. I hunted down a copy of A Trip to the Stars with a specific cover, despite having to order it from another country. And, a few months ago, I bought a second copy of The Martian Chronicles just because of the cover.

I already own this #book, but I really love this cover #art - Martian Chronicles, by #raybradbury

Phase 2 – First Impressions: A book that you got because of the summary?

I always read summaries to be sure that I really do want to read a book, but few have caught my interest only because of the summary. I tend to look for books by author’s I love, books that have been recommended or that have good reviews. One line in the summary for Come, Thou Tortoise caught my eye. It had something to do with disarming an Air Marshall while flying to St. John’s, NFLD. But, the book had been recommended, so it doesn’t count. I think that the summary for Travel Light left a good first impression. It involved a girl who was a princess but became a bear and then a dragon. But, the clincher was “…will appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Diana Wynne Jones, …” Yes, please!

Travel Light

Phase 3 – Sweet Talk: A book with great writing?

I’m able to tolerate bad writing for a good stories, but I much prefer writing that is smooth and evocative. I often say that Ray Bradbury is one of my favourite authors because I love his writing. There’s something poetic about his descriptions. I also enjoyed a few recent books because of their writing. Etta and Otto and Russell and James had a quiet beauty to it that made the story even more lovely. And, Winterkill, though full of teenage romance and angst, was beautifully written. I had a hard time putting the book down, even when I was rolling my eyes at Emmeline’s drama.

20702025

Phase 4 – First Date: A first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series?

Wildwood. The minute I finished the book, I ordered the rest of the series. It was lots of fun and exactly the kind of book that I would have loved as a kid. Also, they all have beautiful cover art.

10431447

Phase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls: A book that kept you up all night?

There have been so many! I want to say Choose Wisely: 35 Women Up To No Good, but being a compilation, it was relatively easy to put the book down once I finished a story. And Then There Were None kept me up because I had to find out who was murdering people! But, then there’s books like Night Film.  It was outright creepy in some parts and I remember one chapter had me freaking right the heck out OMG! RUN! WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON! PANIC! PANIC! AHHHH! I had to stay up for that one because otherwise I would not be able to sleep. Thankfully, I was able to leave the last few chapters for the next day, so I did get a tiny bit of sleep.

10112885

Phase 6 – Always on my mind: A book you could not stop thinking about?

I was really struck by Judy Jordan’s poems in Floodgate Poetry Vol. 2. The story that her poetry tells is quite sad, but written so beautifully. I ended up ordering two of her poetry books because I wanted to read more of her lovely words. But, MaddAddam broke my heart, and I’m still not really over it. It wasn’t a life changing book, but I did spend a lot of time thinking about why a certain death hit me so freaking hard.

17262400

Phase 7 – Getting Physical: A book which you love the way it feels?

This is a hard one. First of all, I tend to borrow ebooks more often then not as it means not having to worry about finding it at the library, or putting it on hold and then having to remember to pick up the book from the library. So, a lot of the books I’ve read in the past few years have been ebooks. I did discover, via Ru, that I dislike books with pages that have rough edges (deckle edged paper): it was annoying to turn pages. I love the heft and rough paper quality of the Wildwood books, but I also loved the smoothness of the pages in A Trip to the Stars. Sometimes, it’s the size that matters. I loved the thinness of Ghost Gear because it meant that I could tuck it into my writing pouch, which kept it safe from damage in my giant backpack.

20312076

Phase 8 – Meeting the parents: A book which you would recommend to your family and friends?

This is a tough question, because they all read very different things. I want to say Etta and Otto and Russell and James, but I’m pretty sure that my mom and sister-in-law would be the only ones who’d really appreciate it. But, then there’s The Princess and the Pony. It’s a kids book, but it’s awesome. I bought a copy for my niece and nephew, and then bought a copy for myself. I think even dad would appreciate it.

23604390

Phase 9 – Thinking about the future: A book or series you know you will re-read many times in the future?

I don’t tend to re-read books that often. I re-read Moral Disorder by accident (though, I didn’t stop once I finally remembered that, yes, I most definitely had read the book before). I plan on re-reading the MaddAddam trilogy, but mostly because I want to read them all back-to-back, instead of years apart. Other than that, I don’t know. Maybe Etta and Otto and Russell and James. It was a lovely novel and a relatively quick read.

21558902

Phase 10 – Share the love: Who do you tag? No one. I don’t tag people. But, if you do this, please let me know in the comments, as I’d love to read yours.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book courtship

  1. stephieann8 says:

    This was so interesting. I too am guilty of the book cover thing…

    Like

  2. Pingback: Book courtship | Chiaki Creates

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s